Seven Chakras: All you need to know about healing and balancing

Seven Chakras: All you need to know about healing and balancing

Our physical health is directly proportional to our spiritual health. And the connection between spiritual and physical can easily be understood by the knowledge of seven chakras. One can easily decode their habits and decisions based on this divine knowledge and aim for the better version of themselves.

But before I dwell into the topic I wanted to explain the relevance of number seven. Why god created seven chakras in our body, what is so important about this number seven?

Importance of number 7

The number seven represents divine completion. Where it traces its meaning from the story of creation from Genesis where God completes the world and then rests on the 7th day. In our current calendar, we have seven days a week, with each day of the week is named after one the 7-Luminaries, or what is also known as the 7-Classical Planets.
In terms of 7 and completeness, the final book of the Bible is Revelation, which is full of number 7 symbolism; including 7- churches, 7-seals, 7-trumpets, 7-angels, a 7-headed-beast, etc.

Plus if we write God it equals to 17 which is the 7 prime number.
God = 7+6+4 = 17 (O is the 15 letter and 1+5 = 6).

Chakras and properties

Before you begin reading further, I would like to advise you to take a pen and a paper and make a chart about your characteristics based on the properties mentioned below so you would able to identify your problems and act accordingly. The deficiencies and excessiveness of a particular chakra will make you better understand your body type.

1. Muladhara Chakra (Root Chakra)

Position: At Base of the spine in the tailbone area
Meaning: Root Support
• Physical and psychological stability
• Health and wellness
• Family and social environments
• Interpersonal connections
• Tribal identity
• A sense of belonging, safety, and trust in the world
Element: Earth
Color: Red

• Fear
• Disembodiment
• Underweight
• Anxiety
• Restlessness
• Poor focus and discipline
• Difficulty setting boundaries
• Financial problems
• Disorganization

• Overeating
• Obesity
• Hoarding
• Hyper Materialism
• Greed
• Laziness
• Chronic fatigue
• Fear of change
• Inflexible boundaries

• Feel secure
• Grounded
• Stable
• Firmly rooted in the physical world

2. Svadhisthana Chakra (Sacral Chakra)

Position: At lower abdomen area, two inches below the navel
Meaning: Sweetness or a place of one’s own
• Movement and fluidity
• Beauty
• Pleasure
• Desire
• Sexuality
Element: Water
Color: Orange

• Diminished Libido
• Fear of sex
• Antisocial behavior
• Poor social skills
• Repression of pleasure and desire
• Lack of zeal for life

• Inappropriate sexual behavior
• Pleasure addiction
• Inappropriately strong emotions
• Hypersensitivity
• Poor boundaries
• Emotional dependency
• Obsessive attachment

• Emotional intelligence
• The ability to experience pleasure
• Ability to navigate seductive forces in the physical world that can include sex, alcohol, money, and drugs without negotiating our sense of self or well-being.

3. Manipura Chakra (the solar plexus chakra)

Position: At the upper abdomen, in the stomach area
Meaning: Lustrous Gem
• Individuation
• Personal behavior and autonomy
• Self-confidence
• Ego and attachments
Element: Fire
Color: Yellow

• Low Energy
• Poor self-discipline and follow through
• Low self-esteem
• Sluggish digestion
• Poor Posture
• Victim mentality
• Blaming others
• Passivity
• Unreliability

• Overly aggressive and dominating
• Controlling and manipulative
• Deceitfulness
• High temper
• Violent behavior
• Stubborn
• Overly ambitious
• Competitive
• Arrogant
• Hyperactive

• Motivated by a healthy ego
• Confident
• Empowered
• Action-oriented psyche
• Reliable
• Appropriate boundaries

4. Anahata Chakra (Heart Chakra)

Position: Center of the chest, just above the heart
Meaning: Unstruck
Represents: Connection through love, compassion, and devotion
Element: Air
Color: Green

• Antisocial tendencies
• Withdrawal
• Coldness
• Hyper-Criticism
• Intolerance for self and others
• Loneliness
• Depression
• Fear of intimacy and relationships
• Lack of empathy
• Narcissism

• Co-dependency
• Poor boundaries
• A demanding nature
• Clinginess
• Jealousy
• Martyrdom

• Available to the inevitable ebb and flow of life with acceptance
• Ability to explore the depths of own well-being and others with compassion
• Present to the experiences of others with empathy
• Understanding and forgiving

5. Vishuddha Chakra (Throat Chakra)

Position: Throat
Meaning: Purification
• Self-expression
• Co-creation
• Authenticity
• Congruent expression of thoughts and heart

Element: Sound
Color: Blue

• Fear of speaking
• A small, weak voice
• Difficulty Communicating emotions
• Diminished self-expression
• Introversion
• Shyness
• Tone deafness
• Poor rhythm

• Talkative
• Talking as a defense
• Inability to listen
• Poor auditory understanding
• Gossiping
• Lying
• Interrupting
• Dominating voice

• Words and action match
• Fluid communication
• Honesty
• Thoughtful

6. Ajna Chakra (Third Eye Chakra)

Position: Between the eyes
Meaning: To perceive or command
• Thoughts
• Ideas
• Intuitive knowing
• Insight
• Vision
Element: Light
Color: Indigo

• Insensitivity
• Weak vision
• Poor Memory
• Difficulty seeing the future
• Lack of imagination
• Difficulty remembering dreams
• Dogmatic or rigid thinking

• Fantasy thinking
• Excessive daydreaming
• Hallucinations
• Delusions
• Obsessions
• Difficulty concentrating
• Nightmares

• To be able to see beyond reason
• Become more intuitive
• Think symbolically
• Let go of the literal perception
• Trust in internal knowing

7. Sahasrara Chakra (Crown Chakra)

Position: At the top of the head
Meaning: Thousandfold
• Access point to the 8th Chakra(prana or God)
• Awakening to grace
• Transcending ego, attachments and experience pure bliss
Element: Thought or consciousness
Color: Violet

• Spiritual cynicism
• Difficulty learning and grasping information
• Inability to be open to other believe systems
• Judgmental thinking
• Spiritual apathy

• Confusion or over-intellectualization
• Spiritual addiction
• Religious fanaticism
• Dissociation from your body
• Spiritual narcissism

• Wise
• Open-minded
• Have a sense of spiritual connection
• Ability to experience the energy oneself, other people, the planet and god as one.

Read: Why there are only 26 letters in the English Alphabet


If you profile yourself based on the above properties you would able to identify which of the seven chakras your body is excessive and deficient in and make a proper plan for your body. Don’t worry if you have properties of both excessive and deficiency of a particular chakra, it can be treated with proper meditation and Yoga.


Our bodies have suffered a lot of abuse from birth till now both physical and mental. Knowledge of Chakras can certainly enhance one’s understanding of the human body. But healing your body is not an overnight process. It requires patience and perseverance. It can take years depending upon the abuse your body has suffered from birth till now.

During my journey to healing my body, I have come across many teachers. Understanding the process that the body goes through during abuse can make one light years ahead of others. Yoga is one of the best practices one can use to start his/her healing journey. But Yoga if done without the direction of a proper teacher in nothing but random body movements. You need to understand it is a spiritual journey hence a teacher is very important.

One such teacher is Sean Corn. She is a renowned yoga instructor and a great spiritual leader. I would advise you to take her course in which she guides through the healing of individual chakras. Of course, you can begin your journey on your own but having a teacher will certainly cut your healing time from years to months.

Close Menu